Submission to the Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee No.2 (Committee) on possible revisions to the Ward Boundaries.

The key points of the terms of reference for the Ward Boundaries are that:

- The number of councillors per ward shall be 5,6 or 7,
- The differences in the ratio of population per council seat per ward should not be greater than + or 10%.

The position for the DLR Council area is as follows:

	DÚN
County	LAOGHAIRE
	RATHDOWN
Population 2016	218,018
Total no. of Cline	10
Total no. of Clirs.	40
Population per Cllr.	5,450
variance +10%	5,995
variance -10%	4,905

Current LEAs	Seats	Рор.	Pop/seat	Var.	
Blackrock	6	32,047	5,341	-2.0%	
Dún Laoghaire	8	43,307	5,413	-0.7%	
Dundrum	7	37,452	5,350	-1.8%	
Glencullen- Sandyford	7	40,902	5,843	7.2%	
Killiney-Shankill	6	33,802	5,634	3.4%	
Stillorgan	6	30,508	5,085	-6.7%	
Dublin Rathdown	20	109,156	5,458	0.1%	
Dún Laoghaire	20	108,862	5,443	-0.1%	

The above table shows the following:

- All of wards are within the + or 10% requirement.
- However, Glencullen/Sandyford is already 7% over and covers one of the fastest growing area in the council area. A change here is going to be inevitable.

This could be remedied by transferring an area from GS to Stillorgan, which is the only area which is considerably below the average. However, this would mean splitting the village of Sandyford Village, which would not be "natural" and would surely be opposed by the local population.

<u>An Extra Ward</u>

Ward	Existing	Change to
	Council	four wards-
	Seats	no. of seats
Dundrum	7	5
Stillorgan	6	5
Glencullen/Sandyford	7	5
Ballinteer		5
Total	20	20

Another possibility is the look a slightly bigger reconfiguration and creating a fourth ward.

Apart from "right-sizing" both Glencullen Sandyford and Glencullen, tther arguments in favour of the four wards are:

- Smaller areas make it easier for councillors to serve their constituents
- Smaller wards are beneficial also for the electorate as the ward is likely to be more homogenous
- A fourth ward will allow Ballinteer to have its own representation and voice in the Council.

We recommend the latter option and would suggest the creation of 4 wards as follows:

Dáil 2018	LEA	ED	2016 Final	Average	% of 5450
Dublin Bothdown	Dundrum	Ballinteer- Broadford	2 5 2 7		
Dublin Rathdown Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum		2,537 2,028		
Dublin Rathdown	Dunarum	Ballinteer-Ludford Ballinteer-	2,028		
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Meadowbroads	1,639		
Dubin rutindown		Ballinteer-	1,000		
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Meadowmount	1,848		
		Churchtown-	,		
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Nutgrove	3,165		
		Dundrum-			
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Sweetmount	2,165		
	Dundrum/Glencullen-				
Dublin Rathdown	Sandyford	Ballinteer-Marley	2,253		
	Dundrum/Glencullen-	Dundrum-			
Dublin Rathdown	Sandyford	Sandyford	7,688		
Dublin Dathdaum		Ballinteer-	E 40E		
Dublin Rathdown	Glencullen-Sandyford	Woodpark	5,405 28,72		
		Total =	20,72	5745.6	105.42
			0	5745.0	105.42
		Churchtown-			
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Castle	1,476		
	Danaran	Churchtown-	.,		
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Landscape	1,411		
		Churchtown-			
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Orwell	1,943		
		Churchtown-			
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Woodlawn	1,481		
		Clonskeagh-			
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Farranboley	1,615		
Dublin Dath dawn	Duradaura	Clonskeagh-Windy	0.700		
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum Dundrum/Glencullen-	Arbour	2,736		
Dublin Rathdown	Sandyford	Dundrum-Balally	8,035		
	Sanuyioru	Clonskeagh-	0,055		
Dublin Rathdown	Stillorgan	Milltown	2,049		
		Dundrum-	2,010		
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Kilmacud	3,274		
Dublin Rathdown	Dundrum	Dundrum-Taney	2,491		
		Total =	26,511	5302.2	97.29
			,•	COULIE	0.120
		1		ļ	
		Cabinteely-			
Dun Laoghaire	Glencullen-Sandyford	Loughlinstown	4,280		
Dublin Rathdown/Dún			19,77		
Laoghaire	Glencullen-Sandyford	Glencullen	3		
Dublin Rathdown	Glencullen-Sandyford	Tibradden	1,111		
			25,16		
		Total =	4	5,033	92.34

		Clonskeagh-			
Dublin Rathdown	Stillorgan	Belfield	3,122		
		Clonskeagh-			
Dublin Rathdown	Stillorgan	Roebuck	2,699		
		Foxrock-			
Dun Laoghaire	Stillorgan	Carrickmines	5,951		
Dun Laoghaire	Stillorgan	Foxrock-Torquay	1,445		
		Stillorgan-			
Dublin Rathdown	Stillorgan	Deerpark	2,955		
		Stillorgan-			
Dublin Rathdown	Stillorgan	Kilmacud	3,973		
		Stillorgan-			
Dun Laoghaire	Stillorgan	Leopardstown	2,714		
Dublin Rathdown	Stillorgan	Stillorgan-Merville	3,217		
		Stillorgan-Mount			
Dublin Rathdown	Stillorgan	Merrion	2,383		
		Total =	28,459	5691.8	104.44